Book Review, literature, Post

Review “Fatherland” by Robert Harris

Title: Fatherland Author: Robert Harris Publication: Arrow Publication date: April 26th 2012 (original in 1992) Genre: Alternate History Spoilers: Maybe a little, but nothing major Rating: 3/5 “It is twenty years after Nazi Germany's triumphant victory in World War II and the entire country is preparing for the grand celebration of the Führer's seventy-fifth birthday,… Continue reading Review “Fatherland” by Robert Harris

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “Furthermore” by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Furthermore Author: Tahereh Mafi Publication: Dutton Books Publication date: August 30th 2016 Genre: Fantasy Spoilers: NO! Rating: 5/5 “Alice Alexis Queensmeadow 12 rates three things most important: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. Father disappeared from Ferenwood with only a ruler, almost three years ago. But… Continue reading Review “Furthermore” by Tahereh Mafi

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “RoseBlood” by A.G. Howard

Title: RoseBlood Author: A.G. Howard Publication: Harry N. Abrams Publication date: January 10th 2017 Genre: Fantasy Spoilers: NOPE Rating: 3/5 “In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide.… Continue reading Review “RoseBlood” by A.G. Howard

Geen categorie, Personal, Post

My best rated books of 2017!

Happy Newyear everyone! It’s 2018 and I wanted to do a little recap for 2017. I started this blog in april and I haven’t written reviews for all the books I’ve read (yet). I might still do so, but I don’t have enough time yet. So here are the books that I’ve given a 5… Continue reading My best rated books of 2017!

Book Review, non fiction, Post

Non-Fiction November: How Fiction Works

Title: How Fiction Works Author: James Wood Publisher: Vintage Published: Genre: Non-Fiction Rating: 2/5 “In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism,… Continue reading Non-Fiction November: How Fiction Works

Book Review, literature, Post

Review “Bridget Jones’s Baby” by Helen Fielding

Title: Bridget Jones's Baby Author: Helen Fielding Publication: Vintage Publication date: October 2016 Genre: Contemporary Spoilers: NO MAJOR SPOILERS! BUT A FEW DETAILS ARE DISCUSSED! Rating: 1/5 "Bridget Jones, beloved Singleton and global phenomenon, is back with a bump in Bridget Jones's Baby: The Diaries. 8:45 P.M. Realize there have been so many times in my life… Continue reading Review “Bridget Jones’s Baby” by Helen Fielding

Book Review, Dutch, non fiction, Post

Non-Fictie November: Na de Apocalyps

Titel: Na de Apocalyps: alles wat je nodig hebt om weer een samenleving op te bouwen Auteur: Lewis Dartnell Publicatie: Het Spectrum Publicatie datum: Mei 2014 Genre: Non-fictie Rating: 5/5 “Dit is het handboek dat je nodig hebt als overlever van de Apocalyps. Niet om alleen de eerste weken te overleven, maar ook om weer… Continue reading Non-Fictie November: Na de Apocalyps

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “Crow Mountain” by Lucy Ingliss

Title: Crow Mountain Author: Lucy Ingliss Publication: Chicken House Publication date: September 3rd 2015 Genre: Romance Spoilers: NO Rating: 5/5! “While on holiday in Montana, Hope meets local boy Cal Crow, a ranch hand. Caught in a freak accident, the two of them take shelter in a mountain cabin where Hope makes a strange discovery.… Continue reading Review “Crow Mountain” by Lucy Ingliss

Book Review, non fiction, Post

Non-Fiction November: Death of the Critic

Title: Death of the critic Author: Rónán McDonald Publication: Bloomsbury Academic Publication date: December 30th 2007 Genre: Non-Fiction (Literary Criticism) Rating: 4/5 “The critic has long been a reviled figure, at best the mere handmaiden of the "creative" arts, at worst a parasite upon them. For Brendan Behan, critics are like eunuchs in a harem.… Continue reading Non-Fiction November: Death of the Critic

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “Long may she reign” by Rhiannon Thomas

Title: Long may she reign Author: Rhiannon Thomas Publication: HarperTeen Publication date: February 21st 2017 Genre: Fantasy Spoilers: No Rating: 4/5 “Freya was never meant be queen. Twenty third in line to the throne, she never dreamed of a life in the palace, and would much rather research in her laboratory than participate in the… Continue reading Review “Long may she reign” by Rhiannon Thomas