Book Review, non fiction, Post

Non-Fiction November: How Fiction Works

Title: How Fiction Works Author: James Wood Publisher: Vintage Published: Genre: Non-Fiction Rating: 2/5 “In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism,… Continue reading Non-Fiction November: How Fiction Works

Advertisements
Book Review, literature, Post

Review “Bridget Jones’s Baby” by Helen Fielding

Title: Bridget Jones's Baby Author: Helen Fielding Publication: Vintage Publication date: October 2016 Genre: Contemporary Spoilers: NO MAJOR SPOILERS! BUT A FEW DETAILS ARE DISCUSSED! Rating: 1/5 "Bridget Jones, beloved Singleton and global phenomenon, is back with a bump in Bridget Jones's Baby: The Diaries. 8:45 P.M. Realize there have been so many times in my life… Continue reading Review “Bridget Jones’s Baby” by Helen Fielding

Book Review, Dutch, non fiction, Post

Non-Fictie November: Na de Apocalyps

Titel: Na de Apocalyps: alles wat je nodig hebt om weer een samenleving op te bouwen Auteur: Lewis Dartnell Publicatie: Het Spectrum Publicatie datum: Mei 2014 Genre: Non-fictie Rating: 5/5 “Dit is het handboek dat je nodig hebt als overlever van de Apocalyps. Niet om alleen de eerste weken te overleven, maar ook om weer… Continue reading Non-Fictie November: Na de Apocalyps

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “Crow Mountain” by Lucy Ingliss

Title: Crow Mountain Author: Lucy Ingliss Publication: Chicken House Publication date: September 3rd 2015 Genre: Romance Spoilers: NO Rating: 5/5! “While on holiday in Montana, Hope meets local boy Cal Crow, a ranch hand. Caught in a freak accident, the two of them take shelter in a mountain cabin where Hope makes a strange discovery.… Continue reading Review “Crow Mountain” by Lucy Ingliss

Book Review, non fiction, Post

Non-Fiction November: Death of the Critic

Title: Death of the critic Author: Rónán McDonald Publication: Bloomsbury Academic Publication date: December 30th 2007 Genre: Non-Fiction (Literary Criticism) Rating: 4/5 “The critic has long been a reviled figure, at best the mere handmaiden of the "creative" arts, at worst a parasite upon them. For Brendan Behan, critics are like eunuchs in a harem.… Continue reading Non-Fiction November: Death of the Critic

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “Long may she reign” by Rhiannon Thomas

Title: Long may she reign Author: Rhiannon Thomas Publication: HarperTeen Publication date: February 21st 2017 Genre: Fantasy Spoilers: No Rating: 4/5 “Freya was never meant be queen. Twenty third in line to the throne, she never dreamed of a life in the palace, and would much rather research in her laboratory than participate in the… Continue reading Review “Long may she reign” by Rhiannon Thomas

Book Review, literature, Post

Review “Dracula” by Bram Stoker

Title: Dracula Author: Bram Stoker Publication: Longman Publication date: September 9th 2004 (original in 1897) Genre: horror Spoilers: No Rating: 2/5 “When Jonathan Harker visits Transylvania to help Count Dracula with the purchase of a London house, he makes horrifying discoveries about his client and his castle. Soon afterwards, a number of disturbing incidents unfold… Continue reading Review “Dracula” by Bram Stoker

Book Review, Dutch, literature, Post

Recensie: “We zullen niet te pletter slaan” door Nina Polak

Titel: We zullen niet te pletter slaan Auteur: Nina Polak Publicatie: Prometheus Publicatie datum: april 2014 Genre: contemporary Spoilers: Nee Rating: 5/5! “Anna en Schard, dochter en zoon van twee moeders, groeien op in een polder, een idylle van Hollandse tolerantie. Totdat op een gewone dag, om volwassen redenen, en onder luid gejank van de hond,… Continue reading Recensie: “We zullen niet te pletter slaan” door Nina Polak

Book Review, literature, Post

Review “All the Birds in the Sky” by Charlie Jane Anders

Title: All the Birds in the Sky Author: Charlie Jane Anders Publication: Tor Books Release Date: January 26th 2016 Genre: Science Fiction/Fantasy Spoilers: No Rating: (2/5) “A novel about the end of the world--and the beginning of our future Childhood friends Patricia Delfine and Laurence Armstead didn't expect to see each other again, after parting… Continue reading Review “All the Birds in the Sky” by Charlie Jane Anders

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “The Weight of Feathers” by Anna-Marie McLemore

Title: The Weight of Feathers Author: Anna-Marie McLemore Publication: Thomas Dunne Release date: September 15th 2015 Genre: magical realism Spoilers: No Rating: (4/5) “For twenty years, the Palomas and the Corbeaus have been rivals and enemies, locked in an escalating feud for over a generation. Both families make their living as traveling performers in competing… Continue reading Review “The Weight of Feathers” by Anna-Marie McLemore