Book Review, Dutch, Post, Young Adult

Recensie “Op de rand van het niets” van Corinne Duyvis

Titel: Op de Rand van het Niets Auteur: Corinne Duyvis Publicatie: HarperCollins Publicatie Datum: Genre: Sciencefiction Spoilers: Nee Rating: 5/5 "Amsterdam, 2035 Terwijl een vernietigende komeet recht op de aarde afsnelt, wacht de zestienjarige Denise gespannen op het moment van de inslag. De gelukkigen zijn al vertrokken in ruimteschepen, op weg naar een nieuwe bestemming,… Continue reading Recensie “Op de rand van het niets” van Corinne Duyvis

Advertisements
Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl” by David Barnett

Title: Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl Author: David Barnett Publication: Snowbooks Ltd Publication Date: September 2013 Genre: Steampunk/Science Fiction Spoilers: NO Rating: 4/5 “19th-century London is the centre of a vast British Empire. Airships ply the skies and Queen Victoria presides over three-quarters of the known world. London might as well be a world away from… Continue reading Review “Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl” by David Barnett

Book Review, literature, Post

Review “Fatherland” by Robert Harris

Title: Fatherland Author: Robert Harris Publication: Arrow Publication date: April 26th 2012 (original in 1992) Genre: Alternate History Spoilers: Maybe a little, but nothing major Rating: 3/5 “It is twenty years after Nazi Germany's triumphant victory in World War II and the entire country is preparing for the grand celebration of the Führer's seventy-fifth birthday,… Continue reading Review “Fatherland” by Robert Harris

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “Furthermore” by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Furthermore Author: Tahereh Mafi Publication: Dutton Books Publication date: August 30th 2016 Genre: Fantasy Spoilers: NO! Rating: 5/5 “Alice Alexis Queensmeadow 12 rates three things most important: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. Father disappeared from Ferenwood with only a ruler, almost three years ago. But… Continue reading Review “Furthermore” by Tahereh Mafi

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “RoseBlood” by A.G. Howard

Title: RoseBlood Author: A.G. Howard Publication: Harry N. Abrams Publication date: January 10th 2017 Genre: Fantasy Spoilers: NOPE Rating: 3/5 “In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide.… Continue reading Review “RoseBlood” by A.G. Howard

Book Review, non fiction, Post

Non-Fiction November: How Fiction Works

Title: How Fiction Works Author: James Wood Publisher: Vintage Published: Genre: Non-Fiction Rating: 2/5 “In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism,… Continue reading Non-Fiction November: How Fiction Works

Book Review, literature, Post

Review “Bridget Jones’s Baby” by Helen Fielding

Title: Bridget Jones's Baby Author: Helen Fielding Publication: Vintage Publication date: October 2016 Genre: Contemporary Spoilers: NO MAJOR SPOILERS! BUT A FEW DETAILS ARE DISCUSSED! Rating: 1/5 "Bridget Jones, beloved Singleton and global phenomenon, is back with a bump in Bridget Jones's Baby: The Diaries. 8:45 P.M. Realize there have been so many times in my life… Continue reading Review “Bridget Jones’s Baby” by Helen Fielding

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “Crow Mountain” by Lucy Ingliss

Title: Crow Mountain Author: Lucy Ingliss Publication: Chicken House Publication date: September 3rd 2015 Genre: Romance Spoilers: NO Rating: 5/5! “While on holiday in Montana, Hope meets local boy Cal Crow, a ranch hand. Caught in a freak accident, the two of them take shelter in a mountain cabin where Hope makes a strange discovery.… Continue reading Review “Crow Mountain” by Lucy Ingliss

Book Review, non fiction, Post

Non-Fiction November: Death of the Critic

Title: Death of the critic Author: Rónán McDonald Publication: Bloomsbury Academic Publication date: December 30th 2007 Genre: Non-Fiction (Literary Criticism) Rating: 4/5 “The critic has long been a reviled figure, at best the mere handmaiden of the "creative" arts, at worst a parasite upon them. For Brendan Behan, critics are like eunuchs in a harem.… Continue reading Non-Fiction November: Death of the Critic

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “Long may she reign” by Rhiannon Thomas

Title: Long may she reign Author: Rhiannon Thomas Publication: HarperTeen Publication date: February 21st 2017 Genre: Fantasy Spoilers: No Rating: 4/5 “Freya was never meant be queen. Twenty third in line to the throne, she never dreamed of a life in the palace, and would much rather research in her laboratory than participate in the… Continue reading Review “Long may she reign” by Rhiannon Thomas