Book Review, Dutch, literature, Post

Recensie “De Mensengenezer” van Koen Peeters

Titel: De Mensengenezer Auteur: Koen Peeters Publicatie: De Bezige Bij Publicatie datum: 6 april 2017 Genre: Contemporaty Spoilers: Misschien? Dit is niet een boek waarin spoilers gegeven kunnen worden, denk ik, maar ik ga wel op de inhoud in. Rating: 4/5 "Een verdwijnend boerenbestaan, een koloniaal en schuldbeladen verleden en in het menselijk hart een… Continue reading Recensie “De Mensengenezer” van Koen Peeters

Advertisements
Book Review, non fiction, Post

Non-Fiction November: How Fiction Works

Title: How Fiction Works Author: James Wood Publisher: Vintage Published: Genre: Non-Fiction Rating: 2/5 “In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism,… Continue reading Non-Fiction November: How Fiction Works

Book Review, Dutch, non fiction, Post

Non-Fictie November: Haak je eigen Kerststal

Titel: Haak je eigen Kerststal Auteur: Christel Krukkert Publicatie: Forte Publicatie datum: 2013 Genre: Non-Fictie (Knutsel/Handwerkboek) Rating: 5/5 Deze recensie voor Non-Fictie November heb ik in samenwerking met MadeByRianne (mijn moeder) geschreven. Ze maakt allerlei gebreide en gehaakte werkjes, zoals poppenkleertjes, babymutsjes en ook hele poppetjes, zoals op de foto’s te zien is. Kijk op… Continue reading Non-Fictie November: Haak je eigen Kerststal

Personal, Post

Wishlist top 10!

I’ve decided that I cannot buy any more books until January. Except next Friday when I will be going to a sale at a publishers. I mean, I have to buy something there, right? I know it will be a challenge, but I really want to cut down on my TBR pile and there just… Continue reading Wishlist top 10!

Book Review, non fiction, Post

Non-Fiction November: “The Shakespeare Cookbook”

Title: The Shakespeare Cookbook Authors: Andrew Dalby and Maureen Dalby Publication: The British Museum Press Publication date: July 1st 2012 Genre: Non-Fiction (Cookbook) Rating: 4/5 There was no summary on Goodreads, so this is the book itself: “The period in which Shakespeare was working, from about 1590 to 1615, was not only a time of… Continue reading Non-Fiction November: “The Shakespeare Cookbook”

Book Review, literature, Post

Review “Bridget Jones’s Baby” by Helen Fielding

Title: Bridget Jones's Baby Author: Helen Fielding Publication: Vintage Publication date: October 2016 Genre: Contemporary Spoilers: NO MAJOR SPOILERS! BUT A FEW DETAILS ARE DISCUSSED! Rating: 1/5 "Bridget Jones, beloved Singleton and global phenomenon, is back with a bump in Bridget Jones's Baby: The Diaries. 8:45 P.M. Realize there have been so many times in my life… Continue reading Review “Bridget Jones’s Baby” by Helen Fielding

Book Review, Dutch, non fiction, Post

Non-Fictie November: Na de Apocalyps

Titel: Na de Apocalyps: alles wat je nodig hebt om weer een samenleving op te bouwen Auteur: Lewis Dartnell Publicatie: Het Spectrum Publicatie datum: Mei 2014 Genre: Non-fictie Rating: 5/5 “Dit is het handboek dat je nodig hebt als overlever van de Apocalyps. Niet om alleen de eerste weken te overleven, maar ook om weer… Continue reading Non-Fictie November: Na de Apocalyps

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “Crow Mountain” by Lucy Ingliss

Title: Crow Mountain Author: Lucy Ingliss Publication: Chicken House Publication date: September 3rd 2015 Genre: Romance Spoilers: NO Rating: 5/5! “While on holiday in Montana, Hope meets local boy Cal Crow, a ranch hand. Caught in a freak accident, the two of them take shelter in a mountain cabin where Hope makes a strange discovery.… Continue reading Review “Crow Mountain” by Lucy Ingliss

Book Review, non fiction, Post

Non-Fiction November: Death of the Critic

Title: Death of the critic Author: Rónán McDonald Publication: Bloomsbury Academic Publication date: December 30th 2007 Genre: Non-Fiction (Literary Criticism) Rating: 4/5 “The critic has long been a reviled figure, at best the mere handmaiden of the "creative" arts, at worst a parasite upon them. For Brendan Behan, critics are like eunuchs in a harem.… Continue reading Non-Fiction November: Death of the Critic

Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “Long may she reign” by Rhiannon Thomas

Title: Long may she reign Author: Rhiannon Thomas Publication: HarperTeen Publication date: February 21st 2017 Genre: Fantasy Spoilers: No Rating: 4/5 “Freya was never meant be queen. Twenty third in line to the throne, she never dreamed of a life in the palace, and would much rather research in her laboratory than participate in the… Continue reading Review “Long may she reign” by Rhiannon Thomas