Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “The Loneliness of Distant Beings” by Kate Ling (Ventura Saga #1)

Title: The Loneliness of Distant Beings (Ventura Saga #1)
Author: Kate Ling
Publication: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: May 19th 2016
Genre: Science Fiction

Spoilers: NO
Rating: (1/5)

Even though she knows it’s impossible, Seren longs to have the sunshine on her skin. It’s something she feels she needs to stay sane. But when you’re floating through space at thousands of kilometres an hour, sometimes you have to accept there are things you cannot change.
Except that the arrival of Dom in her life changes everything in ways she can barely comprehend. For a while he becomes the Sun for her; and she can’t help but stay in his orbit. Being with him flaunts every rule designed to keep their home in order, but to lose him would be like losing herself.
In the end they must decide what is most important: loyalty to the only home they’ve ever known, or to each other?” [Goodreads]

I’ve been writing a lot of positive review so far, but once in a while I also read a novel that really disappoints me and I think it is only fair to tell you about that as well. The loneliness of distant beings is one of the biggest disappointments I’ve had in a while. Keep reading if you want to know why.

This novel is basically a romantic love story set in space. It’s about Seren who lives on a spaceship and will stay there for her entire life. On that spaceships you get set up with a life partner with whom you have to have children with. Of course, she falls in love with someone else and that creates all kinds of problems.

I really didn’t like the characters. I thought they were quite standard and I never really got them. I think Seren complaints a lot and I just don’t like her all that much. The same counts for most other characters. I can’t really explain why, but they all kind of annoy me. The only character I like was Seren’s life partner, because he seems like a nasty guy at first, but he also shows another side and that makes me curious to what he really thinks and believes.

The plot was bad. Sorry if I offend anyone with that, but I really think it is bad. It’s just a sappy love story about two people who suddenly fall in love with each other, but can’t be together. I suppose it’s supposed to be heartbreaking, but honestly all I could see was a couple that do stupid things and don’t think of any real solutions to their problems, but just make things worse.

I also don’t have much to say about the writing style. That wasn’t bad, but also not something to praise. I think it was ok for the story it told, but nothing more than that.

So all in all, I was really disappointed when I read this. I was expecting more intelligent main characters, maybe some more mental challenges, but all I got was a sappy love story. I didn’t really like this story, but to end this on a positive note: the cover is breathtaking! And the title is also a very poetic one, so at least that’s positive. This is a series of books, but obviously I won’t be reading the other books.

Leave a Reply

