Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “The Ask and the Answer” by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking #2)

Title: The Ask and the Answer (Chaos Walking #2)
Author: Patrick Ness
Publication: Walker Books
Release Date: May 4th 2009
Genre: Science Fiction

Spoilers: MAYBE IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE FIRST NOVEL!
Rating: (4/5)

“We were in the square, in the square where I’d run, holding her, carrying her, telling her to stay alive, stay alive till we got safe, till we got to Haven so I could save her – But there weren’t no safety, no safety at all, there was just him and his men…
Fleeing before a relentless army, Todd has carried a desperately wounded Viola right into the hands of their worst enemy, Mayor Prentiss. Immediately separated from Viola and imprisoned, Todd is forced to learn the ways of the Mayor’s new order. But what secrets are hiding just outside of town? And where is Viola? Is she even still alive? And who are the mysterious Answer? And then, one day, the bombs begin to explode…” [Goodreads]

This novel is the second in The Chaos Walking trilogy, which was recommended by a friend of mine. I have also reviewed the first novel, which you can read here. In the second part, the story continues with Todd, Violet and with the army. I won’t say too much about it, because I don’t want to spoil anything, even if you haven’t read the first novel yet, but I can tell you that it was another great read!

The writing style is still great in this second novel, just like the first one, but it did feel a little less special? Maybe it was because I had gotten used to the way it was written, but sometimes it even annoyed me a little bit. I hope I won’t feel that way when I read the third part of this series.

I really liked the character development in The Ask and the Answer, because even though Todd’s character grows in the first novel, in this second one his character develops even more and I feel like I know him a lot better now. I also liked that this novel isn’t just written from Todd’s perspective, but also from Viola’s. They both represent two sides in the novel and I thought that was really well done. I also loved one of the other characters (I won’t tell you who), who made quite a change in this second novel. I did think it could have been a bit more elaborate, because I think this character is really interesting and I would have loved to have more of him in the novel, but then again I can’t have everything I want, so I’ll just settle for this. (If you want to know who I’m talking about, send me a pm 😉 )

The plot was once again suspenseful and awesome, however some things were kind of obvious and I saw some of the things coming. I like being surprised in novels, but that didn’t really happen this time. The novel ended with another cliffhanger and even though I hate those, it really does make me curious for the next novel, which I luckily have already bought. I have to read a few other books first for some of the other blogs I write for, but soon I will start reading the last part of this trilogy and I will write another review!

Did you read the first novel? Or have you already finished this trilogy? Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

