Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review “The Knife of Never Letting Go” by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking #1)

Title: The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1)
Author: Patrick Ness
Publication: Walker Books
Release Date: May 5th 2008
Genre: Science Fiction

Spoilers: NOPE
Rating: (4/5)

“Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden — a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.
But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?” [Goodreads]

I bought this novel, because I was told to do so by a friend of mine. She urged me to read it and I thought I’d give it a try. I was not disappointed! I now want to read everything Patrick Ness has ever written, because this was so well written and good!

The novel is about Todd, who lives on a planted far away from earth. It was supposed to be paradise, but it turned out to be a hell. There is this ‘disease’ on the planet where you can hear other peoples thoughts, including thoughts from animals, who don’t think much though. Anyway this so called “Noise” is what makes everything hard on the planet. Imagine hearing the thoughts of other people and other people being able to hear your thoughts. I think things will go very bad, very fast and that is exactly what happened in Todd’s world.

My first impression of the novel was quite good, because it is written in a very different way than usual and I love that. My favorite writer, José Saramago, does the same thing and I just love it when a writer uses language different from everyone else. Todd tells the story in The Knife of Never Letting Go and he really has his own  voice in this novel. You read the way he would have written himself and I loved this way of writing.

The characters were also very interesting. They are diverse and Todd  goes through quite a character development, which I always like in novels. The other characters were also very well worked out. They all have layers to them and none are standard. I kept wondering about their motives and thoughts (even though you can hear most of them).

Besides the amazing writing style, the plot is also a very interesting. It is exciting and VERY suspenseful. Once you get into the story it won’t let you go. I also recommend getting the other parts of the trilogy ready, because once you’ve finished this novel, you’ll want to continue in the next one! Which is what I also did and the review of the second part (The Ask and the Answer) will be uploaded soon!

So I highly recommend this novel to anyone who wants to read an original story with a lot of action, but also with a lot of feelings, because the feelings in this one are REAL! I also recommend it if you’re not a huge science fiction fan, because this is not too much sci-fi for anyone who doesn’t like ‘space stories’.

1 thought on “Review “The Knife of Never Letting Go” by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking #1)”

Leave a Reply

