Personal, Post

My trip to Nice, France #1

Hello everyone,

tomorrow morning I’ll be getting on a plane and I’ll travel to Nice, France! I’m not just going there as a vacation, but I’ll also be learning the French language. I’ll be traveling with Education First and in this post I’ll tell you all about my trip, why I’ve chosen to go on this trip and what I’m going to do there.

Why study in Nice, France?

So first of all I would like to tell you why I’m going on this trip and why I’ve chosen Nice,  opposed to any other destination.

Right now I have a gap year and because I really, really wanted to study abroad, but wasn’t able to do so during my bachelor, I’ve decided to do it another way with Education First. I’ve chosen to travel with Education First, because a few acquaintances have done the same and I’ve only heard good things about them. So far my experience with EF has also been very good. I found it quite difficult to make the decision to go on this trip, because it costs a lot of money and this is also the very first time that I’ll be travelling alone. EF however has been very good at taking away any concerns I’ve had about my trip. They’ve answered all my questions and they have provided me with great service.

Of course, one of the main reasons for this trip is to learn French, but I’ve been wanting to study abroad for a long time for other reasons as well. I want to learn more about other cultures and I want to spend some time in the same place, so I can really experience that place. Usually when I travel it’s just for a few days or a week and I always feel like I’m running around trying to absorb as much as I can, but this time I can just stop and look at around, without having to hurry too much.

Last but not least, I also chose Nice, because of the beach, the (hopefully) beautiful weather and because I think it’ll be a really nice place to visit.

What am I going to do?

I’m going to spend four weeks in Nice and, as I’ve said already, I’ll be learning the French language there. I’ll stay with a host family, so I’ll also be experiencing a different culture. I’ve chosen to do the General Course at the Eduction First school. This means I’ll have 26 lessons a week, each lesson is about 40 minutes. So I’ll be going to “school” for 3 to 4 hours a day and have plenty of time to do all the other things I want to do there, because I’ve already made a little list of things I really want to do and see, but if you have any suggestions for things to do in Nice, I’d love to hear it!

There are a number of art museums in Nice and for once I don’t have to pick one where I’ll go, because I’m sure I’ll have time to visit a few of them. Number one on my list is the Matisse museum, because I don’t think I’ve ever seen any Matisse paintings and I think it’ll be an interesting place to visit.

I also have a thing for cathedrals and Nice has a few of those, so I’ll probably be spending some time visiting those as well. Bonus for me: the place I’m staying at is almost next to the Russian cathedral, so that’s convenient.

I also would love to see some of the surrounding cities and villages, but I haven’t really looked into visiting them yet, because I’ll either want to go with EF or perhaps go with people I meet along the way. I’ll just have to see about that when I arrive.

In about two weeks (maybe sooner) I’ll post another blog about my trip to France where I’ll tell you about my first week and about all the things I’ve done so far, so keep an eye out for it!

Have you had experience with Education First or have you been to Nice? Let me know!

 

1 thought on “My trip to Nice, France #1”

Leave a Reply

