Book Review, Post, Young Adult

Review Three Dark Crowns #1 by Kendare Blake

Title: Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns #1)
Author: Kendare Blake
Publication: HarperTeen
Release Date: September 20th 2016
Genre: Fantasy

Spoilers: NO SPOILERS
Rating: (3/5)

When kingdom come, there will be one.
In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.
But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.
The last queen standing gets the crown.” [Goodreads]

I read this novel for the Bored to Death Bookclub, a monthly bookclub in Rotterdam. After reading the synopsis I was quite excited to read and then discuss this novel, because it promised to be an exciting read. However, I was slightly disappointed by the novel.

This novel is about three sisters who will have to kill each other for the throne, which sounds pretty exciting and sounds like a bit of a gruesome novel, however it was not. This novel felt a lot like one really long introduction and even though it wasn’t a bad one, it still wasn’t what I was expecting.

The characters were fine, but I didn’t feel a real connection with any of them. I think all three queens are nicely worked out, but I also think they are too similar to one another and none of them are very special to me. Maybe that was the plan, because by making them similar perhaps you are supposed to become attached to every one of them and well, two have to die, so that’s dramatic. However, I didn’t really feel connected to any of them, so that doesn’t work for me. I mean when one dies, I don’t think I’ll be very upset by it and the whole point of this is that one gets upset, right?

I was also expecting an exciting and bloody plot with murder and intrigue. Instead I got a long introduction of the world of Three Dark Crowns and the characters. So when I was reading it I was expecting exiting stuff to happen and it never happened… Nevertheless, the world of Three Dark Crowns is very interesting and I will definitely read the second novel of this series, because I am curious as to how it will proceed and I also really want to know more about the history of the island, which I thought was very well done. So this is a good novel when it comes to world building.

All in all, this was an ok novel. It was like a big introduction to the trilogy, so not much exiting stuff happened. I will be reading the second novel, because I am curious to know whether people are going to die and how, because so far it has been rather disappointing. As I’ve heard someone say about this book: We were promised blood, but it never came and that is big letdown. I would still recommend this novel to anyone who likes fantasy and perhaps anyone who writes fantasy, because this novel is a very good example of how a world is build.

Leave a Reply

